Nueva Esparta

Venezuelan State that constitutes, together with the Federal Dependencies, the Insular Region. The state includes three islands: Margarita, Cubagua and Coche, surrounded by the Caribbean Sea, covering an area of 1,150 km2. Pearl fishing, in Cubagua, and the food canning industry are the state’s most profitable economic activities, although its fundamental activities are tourism and trade. Salt is its only mineral resource that is exploited. Other important cities are: Porlamar, Pampatar and Juangriego.